About Us

North West Sutherland Schools was launched at the start of the 2017-2018 school year.  We consist of Kinlochbervie  High School and the three feeder primary schools of Durness, Kinlochbervie and Scourie.  The four schools joined together under an integrated management structure in 2017 and the name adopted in the autumn of 2018. Following a design competition, the new logo was adopted in 2019.

Graeme Smart is the Head Teacher for all four schools while the Deputy Head Teachers are Aileen MacDonald and Katy Lee.  There is a single Parent Council.

The four schools work very closely together to ensure that the needs of our young people are met and that they all have the best possible opportunity to reach their potential.

The Extended Management Team is now as follows:

  • Head Teacher: Mr Graeme Smart
  • Depute Head Teacher (Job Share) : Ms Katy Lee and Mrs Aileen MacDonald
  • PT Primary: Mrs Margaret MacRae,
  • PT Secondary: Mr Neil Galbraith, Mrs Kirtsy Robson, Mrs Cle Jarvis and Mrs Heather Paterson.



General School Email


Head Teacher

Mr Graeme Smart
Telephone 01971 521767
Email: graeme.smart@highland.gov.uk

Depute Head Teachers

Ms Katy Lee
Email:  katy.lee@highland.gov.uk

Mrs Aileen MacDonald
Email:  aileen.macdonald@highland.gov.uk